Posts » Car seat laws

Idaho Car Seat Laws You Need To Know (2023)

Sharing is caring!

When you’re planning a family trip to Idaho, it’s important that you make sure to follow local (or exceed) the child passenger safety laws.

Official Idaho Car Seat Laws

You can find the official Idaho car seat law in Idaho Code 49-672. These are some of the weakest car seat laws in the US, so you may want to consider instead following the recommendations of the Idaho Transportation Department.

Idaho Rear-Facing Car Seat Law

Idaho does not specify how long children must be rear facing. At a minimum, parents are required to follow the guidelines set forth by the manufacturer of their specific car seat (referred to as “proper use”).

Some manufacturers permit children to forward face as young as 1 year as long as they weigh at least 22 pounds, while other manufacturers require toddlers to be at least 2 years old to forward face.

Rear-facing is significantly safer for children as it dramatically decreases the risk of head and neck injuries. This resource is full of great information.

The current guidance from the American Academy of Pediatrics is that children should remain rear-facing to the limits of their convertible car seat. Nearly all convertible car seats today will accommodate kids up to 40 pounds (they have variable height limits so read your manual) – the size of an average 4 year old – rear facing.

Though it’s not specified by the law, research indicates that kids should continue riding in a harnessed car seat (whether rear-facing or forward-facing) until at least age 5, 40 pounds and mature enough to sit properly for the whole drive.

Regardless of their size, ID car seat law requires that children ride in a harnessed car seat until at least their 4th birthday because all US booster seats now have a 40lb and 4 year old minimum.

Idaho Booster Seat Law

Idaho requires children to ride in a car seat booster seat until they reach 6 years old – but be aware that taking a child out of a booster at that age is extremely unsafe even if it’s a legal choice. Most children do not fit properly in an adults seatbelt until 10-12 years old, when they pass the 5-step test.

Be sure to follow manufacturer minimum and maximum size requirements for your booster seat – most manufacturers now require a minimum of 4 years old, 40″ tall and 40 pounds.

When Can Kids Ride In the Front Seat In Idaho?

Idaho law doesn’t require that children ride in the back seat, but many car manufacturers specify that kids should not ride in the front until age 13. Here’s an excellent explanation of why.

Upcoming Changes To Idaho Car Seat Law

There are no changes to car seat laws in Idaho as of this writing.

Get the latest on child car seat laws from the Idaho Transportation Department.

If you’ll be flying to Idaho, be sure to bring one of these travel car seats. If you’re planning a family road trip, consider one of these comfortable convertible car seats or comfortable booster seats. Check more car seat laws by state as you plan your route.

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

59% of car seats are misused. Is YOUR kid safe in the car?

Learn all about the most common car seat mistakes - and how to fix them.