When you’re planning a family trip to Louisiana, it’s important that you make sure to follow local (or exceed) the child passenger safety laws. Louisiana has some of the strictest car seat laws in America, so pay attention!
Official Louisiana Car Seat Laws
You can find the official Louisiana car seat law in Louisiana RS 32:295.
Louisiana Rear-Facing Car Seat Law
Louisiana rear facing car seat law requires children to remain rear facing until at least 2 years old unless they exceed the manufacturer’s height or weight limits.
Rear-facing is significantly safer for children as it dramatically decreases the risk of head and neck injuries. This resource is full of great information.
The current guidance from the American Academy of Pediatrics is that children should remain rear-facing to the limits of their convertible car seat. Nearly all convertible car seats today will accommodate kids up to 40 pounds (they have variable height limits so read your manual) – the size of an average 4 year old – rear facing.
Though it’s not specified by the law, research indicates that kids should continue riding in a harnessed car seat (whether rear-facing or forward-facing) until at least age 5, 40 pounds and mature enough to sit properly for the whole drive.
LA car seat law says that children ride in a harness car seat until they reach the maximum height or weight specified by the manufacturer, which is a wonderful statement and in line with the current guidelines offered by the AAP.
Louisiana Booster Seat Law
Louisiana’s law for booster seats is structured differently than other states. Children can’t ride in a booster seat until they are at least 4 years old AND have outgrown their forward-facing harness. Bravo!
Just keep this law in mind if you’re choosing a forward-facing harnessed seat for a petite child, as some of the longest-lasting options may legally force you to harness until close to 10 years old.
Louisiana requires children to ride in a booster seat (or harnessed car seat) until they reach 9 years old OR have outgrown the limits of their booster seat. Be sure to follow manufacturer minimum and maximum size requirements for your booster seat – most manufacturers now require a minimum of 4 years old, 40″ tall and 40 pounds.
Most children do not fit properly in an adults seatbelt until 10-12 years old, when they pass the 5-step test. Louisiana’s car seat law even includes the benchmarks caregivers should look for to determine that the adult seatbelt fits properly.
When Can Kids Ride In the Front Seat In Louisiana?
The Louisiana front seat age minimum is 13 years old, when many car manufacturers specify that kids can safely ride up front. Here’s an excellent explanation of why.
Upcoming Changes To Louisiana Car Seat Law
Louisiana has some of the strongest car seat laws in the US thanks to their 2019 update. There are no pending changes to LA car seat laws because they reflect the best current guidance for keeping kids safe. Way to go, Louisiana!
Get the latest from Louisiana Highway Safety Commission
If you’ll be flying to Louisiana, be sure to bring one of these travel car seats. If you’re planning a family road trip, consider one of these comfortable convertible car seats or comfortable booster seats. Check more car seat laws by state as you plan your route.
When you’re planning a family trip to Louisiana, it’s important that you make sure to follow local (or exceed) the child passenger safety laws.